Easy summer projects

I’ve had an attitude about knitting washcloths and dishcloths. They seem like the perfect summer knitting project. Small, easy to carry, usually an easy enough pattern to not need too much thought. It was that last one that I think kept me from making them. I got bored. That and I couldn’t get over the fact that all my hard work would be used for cleaning.

Last year a friend mentioned how much she loved hand knitted dishcloths. When she and her husband bought a house, I made a couple as a house warming gift. It wasn’t that bad. Last month I made these for a friend’s bridal shower.

Stack of washcloths

Stack of washcloths

I used the scraps to make this striped washcloth:

Washcloth made with scraps

I used the scraps to make this.

After a week at the cottage, I decided in needed pot holders, which are a cousin of washcloths. However, when I look at potholder patterns, I’m drawn to the crocheted ones.

Like these:

Quilt-square pot holders

I think I’m hooked on these quick and easy projects for summer crafting. If you need me, I’ll be busy making potholders or browsing them on Ravelry.com.

Leave a comment