Magical Knitting

I’m usually someone who is ahead of the trend. I liked bluegrassy-folksy music before Mumford & Sons was a household word. My go-to wedding gift for many years was a hand-crocheted granny square afghan. So why am out of step with Harry Potter books? Because I had an attitude. I’d read the first one and wasn’t impressed, even though I’ve seen the movies. By about the time I’d seen third movie, I knew would eventually read them. Now that I have an e-reader, I’m playing catch up.

Of course, as a yarnie, there is a fascination with Harry Potter movies. Molly Weasley is my heroine. I envy her needles that knit themselves. I love the sweaters, hats, scarves, mitts, even those that are a little cheesy.That’s why when I saw this, I realized this might be the closest that I come.

Knitting Clock

Molly Weasley would be so proud

The coolness of this amazing clock is that over the course of a year it will knit a scarf. It’s like magic. Unfortunately, I’m not Molly. I’m going to have to knit things like Hermione’s sweater or a Sorting Hat under my own power. Meanwhile, Harry Potter and my day job have merged in my dreams. Last night I dreamed of the Quidditch World Cup in Goblet of Fire, but I was coding it with Javascript. Now if I could just knit in my sleep. I bet Molly Weasley can.

One comment on “Magical Knitting

Leave a Reply

