How Tues…er Wednesday: Scrappy Squirrel

You caught me. I forgot to post my How-to yesterday. Considering I knew what I wanted to share, I have no excuse, other than Tuesday is NCIS day. I get very distracted by NCIS.

Last week Rick asked me what to do with scraps after cutting out a pattern. If you’re a crafter you know what I’m talking about.  Nowadays people buy fabric to color coordinate their quilts, but once upon a time, people used the scraps to make quilts. The quilt on the bed in DS3’s room is a scrap quilt that DH’s grandmother pieced. My mother-in-law recognized some of the pieces as we quilted it together.

Scrap quilt

When I hit the Google for some ideas, I ran across this quilt pattern that uses strips rather than squares. Great use for long, narrow pieces left after cutting out a sewing pattern. Fabric scrap banners are also another good use for those. I also found this link with ideas for using fabric scraps. The geek in me loves this idea to cover binder clips. If you wonder why you’d want to use a binder clip for anything other than clipping binders, just look here.

As a knitter, its just as hard to toss bits of yarn as it is for the sewer in me to toss bits of fabric. I’ve used them for:

Once again, hit the Google and see what kind of trouble you can get into. Now we just need storage ideas. How do you store your yarn or fabric scraps?

One comment on “How Tues…er Wednesday: Scrappy Squirrel

  1. Pingback: I have quilts on my mind | wiredyarn

Leave a Reply

